Welcome to the PDS Project Office

This is the Web site of the Project Office for NASA's Planetary Data System (PDS). The Office is located at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center as part of the Solar System Exploration Division in the Solar System Exploration Data Services Office (SSEDSO).

The Planetary Data System is a distributed archive of data products from NASA planetary missions. PDS actively manages the archive to maximize its usefulness, and it has become a basic resource for scientists around the world. PDS is composed of eight teams, called "nodes." There are five science nodes organized primarily by subdisciplines of the planetary sciences. The remaining three nodes provide systems engineering, navigation and ephemeris information, and image processing support. [See "About the Nodes".]

To learn more about the PDS, its data archives, or tools, see the

News and Events:

  • NASA's Science Mission Directorate is seeking input for development of the 2017-2026 PDS Roadmap. For more information, see NSPIRES Solicitation NNH15ZDA012L.

  • The next Management Council Telecon is scheduled for Monday 7 December 2015 at 12:00 PST / 15:00 EST / 20:00 UTC.

  • The next PDS Management Council Face-to-Face Meeting is scheduled for 4-5 February 2016 on the west coast.

  • Presentations from the Management Council (MC) Face-to-Face held on 28-29 September at the Embassy Suites in Arcadia are available on the meeting webpage (login required). Minutes are posted on the MC website (login required).

  • Presentations from the Management Council Face-to-Face held on 21-22 April 2015 at Washington University in St. Louis are available on the meeting webpage. Minutes are posted on the MC website (login required).

  • The AMMOS-PDS Pipeline Service presentation, from April 2014, is available for public use.

  • The PDS Challenge Demo and API website is now publicly accessible.